Car Wreck Law Firms Atlanta
GA Auto Accident Laws - The auto accident claim process looks different from state to state. You should consult the Atlanta Police Department if you or someone in your family is involved in an auto accident that results in more than $500 property damage, death or injury to any party. There are three locations in Atlanta where you can file your auto accident claim. The State Court of Fulton County has jurisdiction in all civil cases in Atlanta. If the claim is less than $15,000, you need to file your case with the Magistrate Court of Fulton County.
Car Insurance Needs - Every vehicle owner in Atlanta should have auto insurance with minimum requirements. The requirements include $25,000 for bodily injury to a single person, $50,000 for bodily injury to multiple people, and $25,000 in property damage. Fault system - Insurance providers in Georgia will determine liability after a vehicle crash before offering coverage. The driver at fault is responsible for injuries and property damages as a result of the accident.
Damage caps - Georgia doesn't have a statewide cap on the amount of compensation you could claim. But there is a $250,000 limit on punitive damages. Punitive damages are awarded by the court to punish the defendant for acts like gross negligence and intent to harm. Comparative negligence laws - Ga sticks to the modified comparative negligence rule. This rule states that the injured party can still receive compensation even if the individual is partially responsible for the crash. If the courts understand that the plaintiff is 50% at fault, he or she is still eligible to recover damages.
Deadline for filing - You get 2 years to file a case of personal injury in Atlanta. After the statute of limitations expires, the courts may refuse to hear your case. Kenneth S. Nugent, P.C is a trusted name when it comes to all types of auto accident cases in Atlanta GA. Call Kenneth S. Nugent, P.C law firm right now if you or someone in your life has been involved in a car accident.