

- WHEREAS, George Wangemann was elected to represent the City of Gainesville's Ward 4 in 1986; and
- WHEREAS, before the role of a Mayor became an elected seat, Mr. Wangemann was appointed as Mayor from 1995-1996 and 2004-2005; and
- WHEREAS, during Mr. Wangemann's time on Council, he served on various boards and committees within Gainesville-Hall County such as: Georgia Mountains Regional Commission, where he recently served as Chairman; Georgia Mountain Food Bank; and Keep Hall Beautiful, along with his continued participation in the Lake Lanier Association's Shore Sweep Event; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Wangemann was named Council Member of the Year in 2018 by the Georgia Mountains Regional Commission and also received the Georgia Municipal Association Certificate of Excellence Award in 2019 after completing 120 hours of training; and
- WHEREAS, after 38 years, Mr. Wangemann is the longest-serving seated member of the Gainesville City Council; and
- NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Hall County Board of Commissioners does hereby pay tribute to

George Wangemann

and recognizes him for his many accomplishments, contributions and more than 38 years of dedicated service to the City of Gainesville, Hall County and its citizens, and extends to him their sincere gratitude for a lifetime of service.

Adopted this 11th day of January 2024.

RICHARD HIGGINS	KATHY COOPER	BILLY POWELL
CHAIRMAN	District 1	DISTRICT 2
GREGG POOLE	JEFFREY STOWE	JENNIFER RIVERA
DISTRICT 3	DISTRICT 4	COMMISSION CLERK